2018-2019 MAPMS Committee Summary and Directory

Below you will find a summary of all the current MAPMS Committees.  The work of these committees is vital to the continued function of the society.  We encourage all members to join a committee listed below.  Please click on the committee chair link to send an e-mail and offer your thoughts and ideas.  Thanks to all those who volunteer their time to MAPMS.

2021 Time and Place (Michigan)

Work with meeting planner to find host site for annual conference based upon the rotation of IN-MI-WI-OH-IL, with other states to be considered as required.  Committee members: Dr. Ryan Thum-Chair, Paul Hausler, Jake Britton, John Goidosik, Dave Nicholson, Amy Kay, Bill Torres.


Consider all resolutions and by-laws changes. Present for consideration all petitions with 10 or more signatures of voting members. Committee members: Steve Zulinski – Chair, Matt Johnson, Jake Britton


Responsible for all society publications. Prepare timely mailings to the membership regarding events for or promoted by the society. Collect and maintain MAPMS archives. Facilitate operations of technology at conference sessions. Committee members: Leif Willey-Chair, Eric Schutman, Paul Hausler, Jimmy Ferguson.


Contact potential exhibitors for participation at the annual conference. Facilitate exhibitor space at each conference site. Coordinate judging and presentation of best-exhibit award at the banquet.  Committee Members: Dave Nicholson-Chair, Chris Douglas, John Goidosik, Landon Wiet, Eric Schutman.


The finance committee will oversee the investment accounts of the Society including reviewing and monitoring quarterly returns, provide reports to the Board of Directors at the spring and fall Board of Directors meetings, and propose any changes to the investment accounts for approval by majority vote of the Board of Directors.  The committee will prepare an annual budget for Board of Directors approval. Committee members: Steve Zulinski-ChairDick Pinagel, Paul Hausler,

Governmental Affairs

Inform the society about existing, pending or needed legislative / regulatory action of interest to the society. Coordinate re-certification credits for the various states in the MAPMS region at the annual conference and any other society functions that may qualify.  Committee members: Matt Johnson -Chair, Garrett McClain, Dave Nicholson.

Internal Audit

Audit all books and fiscal documents of the society prior to the annual meeting.  Committee members: Eric Schutman-Chair, John Goidosik.

Local Arrangements

Provide the board with timely information useful in planning the annual meeting. Plan and coordinate all activities inside and outside the hotel complex, at all official society functions. Inform the program chair of local individual with potential for program speakers. Committee members: Amy Kay -Chair, Eric Schutman, Jake Britton, Matt Johnson.

Work with editorial committee, treasurer and the Board to produce and update the membership directory. Investigate ways of increasing membership in MAPMS. Develop of list of those in the aquatics industry to invite to the conference from the host state. Recommend qualified and duly nominated candidates for Honorary Membership as per MAPMS by-laws.  Committee members: Amy Kay- Chair, John Goidosik, Matt Johnson, Landon Wiet.

Recommend potential nominees for board positions. Determine if nominees are qualified per MAPMS by-laws and willing to serve if elected. Committee members: Paul Hausler-Chair, Matt Johnson, John Goidosik, Rosa Michaelson.

Past-Presidents Advisory

Develop and maintain the operating manual. Examine the goals of the society and make recommendations to the board as required.  Committee members: Paul Hausler-Chair, all MAPMS past-presidents.


Develop the annual meeting program with the assistance of the Vice President. Work with the local arrangements committee in organizing supplemental seminars or workshops. Work with secretary, treasurer and the board to ensure annual meeting expenses are within established budget. Committee members: Jake Britton -Chair, the Board of Directors.


Responsible for maintenance of the MAPMS exhibit booth. Place advertisements or announcements concerning society meetings and other activities relating to the aquatics industry. Make recommendations concerning the course of actions in matters involving keeping citizens advised of information related to aquatic plant management. Committee members: Amy Kay – Chair, Dave Nicholson, Leif Willey.

Silent Auction and Raffle

Arrange Silent auction and scholarship raffle. Solicit donation of items and obtain raffle tickets. Work with program and local arrangements committees to produce successful event at the banquet. Produce thank you letters to all item donators.  Committee members: Landon Wiet – Chair, Casey Thompson, Garrett McClain, Nick Barnes, Ryan VanGothem, John Goidosik, Jake Britton, Amy Kay, Rick Purcell.


Solicit sponsors for annual conference. Ensure that each sponsor is recognized as per conference guidelines.  Committee members: Paul Hausler-Chair, John Goidosik, Garrett McClain, Dave Nicholson, Ryan Van Goethem, Kristen Tanz.

Strategic Planning

Implement the strategic plan to ensure the longevity of the society. Research and propose changes to the strategic plan as require.  Committee members:Eric Schutman-Chair , Matt Johnson, John Goidosik, Ryan Thum.

Student Affairs

Promote student membership in the society. Facilitate the collection of, judging and awards for student paper contest, poster contest and any MAPMS research grants.  Committee members: Dr. Ryan Thum– Chair, Tyler Geer (Student Liaison), Eddie Heath, Kendra Flores, Mark Warman.


To read a full description of each committee’s responsibilities please consult the 2019 OPERATING MANUAL